Posted by: carchayser | August 7, 2008

Honeymoon in Germany

As depicted by the name of my blog and multiply site, I reckon you all know I like cars.  Fast ones of course.

If you, dear reader, are not interested in any sort of thing that has four wheels, please stop reading now.

Still with me?  Ok, I gave you a warning.  It’s not my fault anymore if you’re bored to death by the following paragraphs.

Now, through the course of my life, I have never ever driven around a race track (except with a go kart) or participated in any sort of street racing (except for the impromptu ‘I just wanna chase you down’ moments).

It has long been a lifelong dream of mine to participate in one of them.  Be it an illegal street race or an official 10 or 20 lap race along a race track, it doesn’t matter.  As long as there is an official start and finish line, I’ll walk away a happy man.

Although I have been fond of cars for as long as I can remember (when I was 7 or 8 I could name every model of every car that passed by, which continues to be true up to this day), it was only recently till I was able to watch the Top Gear and Fifth Gear series.

On both of those TV shows, there have been several episodes where the ultimate racetrack in the world which is located in Germany has been mentioned.  In fact, there have been episodes where challenges have been held on that particular racetrack.

It’s called the Nürburgring, or The Ring for short.

The Nordschleife (don’t ask me to pronounce) part, which is the main part of The Ring, consists of 22.810 km (14.173 mi) of about 100 corners which has long been a benchmark for supercars and also of driver skill.  Here’s the map:

The new Nissan GTR ran around The Ring in 7 minutes 38 seconds.  Here’s a video:

On the other hand, the Radical SR8 owns the lap record for The Ring at 6 minutes 55 seconds.

You might be wondering, these are just all taken from the net!  So what’s my point in posting all these stuff?

I’ve mentioned above that I would like to participate in any sort of race.  Well, you can scratch that off the list and replace it with this one.

Ten laps around The Ring with an Audi R8.

I don’t care if it’s only a race against time.  I don’t care if I suffer a serious injury (or worse, trash the car) trying to tackle one of the hundred corners of the track.  You know what?  When I think of it, forget the R8.  My current Corolla would do the job.  That’s how much I want to get around that track.

Of course right now, that’s almost next to impossible.  I’m just an average person and average people do not have much money to burn.  Sure I can do that right now if I put my mind to it but that would leave me broke for about a year maybe (and that’s underestimating).

So next time I hit it big (hopefully).  When me and my girl go to Europe for our honeymoon (yeah this is my expected time to hit it big), forget Paris, forget France, forget Rome, forget London.  We’re going to Germany, buy an R8, and make the baby while going around The Ring.  Just imagine!  It’ll be much more fun than doing it in a hotel room!

*All stats, photos, and videos courtesy of Wikipedia and youtube.

Later.

Leave a Reply

Categories

